Pirkko Saisio shortlisted for the Runeberg Prize!

The shortlist for one of the year’s most important literary awards is now released, and we are very happy to see one of HLA authors on it. Pirkko Saisio was nominated for her newest work Prevarications. Confessions on Love, Writing and Performing (Siltala, 2019) along with seven other authors.

Prevarications is a charming collection with a sharp psychological eye and a wise view of the world. The hilarious, biting stories are woven together by an omniscient narrator, who moves flexibly from autobiographical fiction to fiction and back.

As Finland’s major newspaper Helsingin Sanomat stated about the book: “Pirkko Saisio has for a long time been her own genre, an author with a recognisable style, but in her recent works she has crossed borders and combined genres with ever more courage.” 

Saisio is a well-known author in Finland who has been nominated for the prestigious Finlandia Prize six times, winning it in with The Red Book of Farewell (Punainen erokirja, 2003).

Runeberg Prize is named after the Finnish national poet, Johan Ludvig Runeberg, and it is often regarded to be the second most important literary prize after Finlandia. It is given yearly on Runeberg’s Day, the 5th of February. The prize, worth 10,000 euros, is given out in two categories: fiction and children’s books. We remind you that Malin Klingenberg’s and Sanna Mander’s hilarious children’s verse book The Life of Fart is competing in the children’s category.

Congratulations to the authors, and fingers crossed!

Juhani Karila wins Kalevi Jäntti’s literary prize!

Juhani Karila, the author of the wildest title on HLA’s autumn list Fishing for the Little Pike, received Kalevi Jäntti’s literary prize along with two other Finnish writers.

The jury stated:
Karila’s magnificent novel is magic realism with a Lappish twist. The soul of this book lies in its language […] enchanting the reader. The story’s eco-philosophical view of life digs deep into the [nordic] landscape, and its description is Finnish prose at its best.

Kalevi Jäntti’s prize is a literary prize given yearly to one or several young Finnish authors to encourage and promote Finnish literary fiction. The prize is worth 18,000 euros.

Fishing for the Little Pike was published in September 2019 and immediately gained an overwhelming attention from foreign publishers. World French rights were sold to La Peuplade even before the publication in Finland.

Congratulations to the author!

A Dog Called Cat Meets a Cat wins the public vote in Finlandia competition!

While waiting for the winners of the most important literary award of the year to be announced, we are thrilled to share that A Dog Called Cat Meets a Cat written by Tomi Kontio and illustrated by Elina Warsta has been chosen by the public as their favourite among all the nominees in the Finlandia Junior category.

In their comments, the readers have praised, among others, the importance of the topic and “a very touching storytelling”.

It is the fourth time that the Finnish Book Foundation organized public voting for readers’ favourite Finlandia nominee. 

We remind you that A Dog Called Cat Meets a Cat was nominated in the children’s and YA category for the most prestigious literary award, Finlandia Prize. The winner will be announced on the 27th of November.

Congratulations to the authors!

HLA authors on the longlist for the Runeberg Prize!

It is the first time in the 33 years history of the award that the longlist is announced, and HLA is proud to see two of its authors on it!

HLA’s authors on the longlist are the Finlandia-winning Pirkko Saisio and her new book Prevarications (Siltala, 2019) and Antti Rönkä and his striking debut novel Off the Ground (Gummerus, 2019).

Runeberg Prize is a prestigeous literary award named after the Finnish national poet, Johan Ludvig Runeberg. It is one of the most important literary awards in Finland in addition to the Finlandia Prize. It is worth 10,000 euros and given out yearly in two categories: fiction and children’s books.

The shortlist of 5–8 nominees will be announced on 12th of December, and the winner on the 5th of February, 2020.

Earlier this month it was announced that the hilarious children’s verse book The Life of Fart by Malin Klingenberg & Sanna Mander was nominated for the Runeberg Junior Prize.

Congratulations to the authors and wishing all the best in the competition!

Italian rights of the award-winning The Weather that Changed the World sold in auction to Garzanti!

The Italian rights of Marcus Rosenlund’s State Award for Information Publication-winning The Weather that Changed the World have been sold to Garzanti in an auction. 

Garzanti, the publisher of such bestselling authors as Pier Paolo Pasolini, Truman Capote, Tim Marshall, Peter Wohlleben, Michelle Obama and others, will publish Rosenlund’s non-fiction as their Spring 2021 lead title

Garzanti stated the book will be a complementing their list that already has a strong focus on history, nature and climate, and that it will continue to draw focus of the public debate to important current issues linked with our history in a similar way as Tim Marshall has done in his works.

In addition to the Italian deal, The Weather that Changed the World has previously been sold to 4 more territories.

Congratulations to the author!

(Photo of the author by Cata Portin.)