Pirkko Saisio

Pirkko Saisio (b. 1949) studied drama and completed her actor’s training in 1975. Her debut novel The Course of Life (Elämänmeno, 1975) won the J. H. Erkko Award. Saisio has been nominated for the Finlandia Prize seven times, winning it in with The Red Book of Farewells (Punainen erokirja, 2003), the final installment in the praised Helsinki Trilogy. She has, among other awards, received Aleksis Kivi Prize and State Literature Award. Apart from novels, she has written numerous plays and scripts for film and television and is a well-known theatre director.

Here you can find a short interview with the author from our series, which will give you an even better picture of her works.

(Photo: Laura Malmivaara)

Passion (2021)

Prevarications (2019)

A Man and His Affairs (2016)

The Red Book of Farewells (Helsinki trilogy #3, 2003)

The Backlight (Helsinki trilogy #2, 2000)

The Lowest Common Multiple (Helsinki trilogy #1, 1998)