Three HLA titles nominated for the Torch-bearer Prize

Minna Rytisalo’s novel Mrs. C, Eva Frantz’s crime novel The Eighth Maiden and Anssi Hurme & Maija Hurme’s children’s book Shadowed have been nominated for the Torch-bearer Prize 2019.


Each writer’s work has already gained much praise:

Rytisalo’s Mrs. C is also nominated for the Book of the Year Award in Bonnier’s competition for Grand Journalism Prize. Also, her debut novel Lempi (2016) became wildly successful in Finland: it gathered a number of nominations and was awarded with the Botnia Prize, Thank You for the Book Prize and Blogistania Finlandia Prize.  Read more about Mrs. C here.

Eva Frantz’s horror novel for middle-grade readers Raspberry Hill won the Runeberg Junior Prize for 2019. The author was also awarded the Society of Swedish Authors in Finland Literature Prize for a Debut Novel in 2017. Read more about The Eighth Maiden here.

Anssi & Maija Hurmes’ Shadowed was nominated for Finlandia Junior Prize in 2018 – the most prestigious Finnish literary award given for children’s and young adults’ literature. In February 2019, it was awarded the Society of Swedish Literature in Finland prize of 5,000 euros. Read more about Shadowed here.

The Torch-bearer Prize is a literature award given yearly for a title with most potential to succeed outside Finland. The prize is worth 10,000 euros, and the winner will be announced on March 23rd.

Congratulations to all for the nomination! Onnea! Grattis!