Marjo Niemi

Marjo Niemi (b. 1978) is a Helsinki-based writer, playwright and director. Her debut novel The Run (2004) was awarded the Tiiliskivi Prize. Her second novel Why the Light? (2008) was shortlisted for the Runeberg Prize. Her third novel, A Cannibal’s Friendship (2012), provides an intense look at European wealth and guilt. The Mother of All Losses (2017) was awarded the Runeberg Prize. Her latest novel Hearing (2021) is another take on the questions of who is being seen and heard. In addition to the novels, Niemi has written several plays, contributed to a collaborative fiction work and been a soloist in a spoken word band.

(Photo: Heini Lehväslaiho)

Hearing (2021)
The Mother of All Losses (2017)
Cannibal’s Friendship (2012)
Why the Light? (2008)
The Run (2004)